Outstanding Contribution Award

The SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education honors an individual or group in recognition of a significant contribution to computer science education. The contribution may take many forms, such as: curriculum design, innovating teaching methods, textbook authorship, development of new teaching tools, or any of a number of other significant contributions to computer science education. The contribution should have had long lasting impact on, and made a significant difference in, computing education. This award was initiated in 1981.

Here is the list of award winners along with a citation that very briefly describes why they earned the award:

2015: Mark Allen Weiss
For authoring textbooks that have had a profound impact on generations of students and for invaluable service to the computer science education community.

2014: Robert Panoff
For promoting student enrichment, curriculum development, faculty enhancement, and infusing computational thinking at all levels through Shodor and the National Computational Science Institute.

2013: Michael K├Âlling
For the development of novel programming teaching tools, teaching approaches and teaching material.

2012: Harold (Hal) Abelson
For improving not only the way we teach computing by his contributions to Logo, App Inventor, and his textbook authorship but also the way we view knowledge in the broader society, through his leadership with the Free Software and Open Educational Resources movements and his founding efforts with the Creative Commons initiative.

2011: Matthias Felleisen
For the creation of a design-focused introductory curriculum, for educational outreach programs for K-12, and for many PhD students who continue to merge programming language research and education.

2010: Sally Fincher
For outstanding contributions to computing education research and inspiring a generation of computing education researchers.

2009: Elliot Koffman
For an extraordinary record of teaching, curriculum development, publishing papers as well as numerous textbooks, and for helping to shape Computer Science education.

2008: Randy Pausch
For being an inspirational leader in building programs and environments blending art with science and motivating a world of learners to realize their dreams.

2007: Judith Gal-Ezer
Outstanding researcher and curriculum designer who has carried out pioneering work involving teaching the essence of computer science on both the high school and university levels.

2007 John Hughes
In memory of his forty years contribution to computing education, academic leadership and research in Australasia and internationally. He was an outstanding mentor of students and colleagues and a committed educator.

2006: Richard Pattis
More than two decades of innovation and influence in providing thoughtful, profound, and concrete examples of teaching and thinking about algorithmic problem solving and programming.

2005: Kim Bruce
Innovative teaching methods, textbook authorship. Leadership in Liberal Arts Computer Science Consortium and its curricular recommendations to Curriculum 91 and Curriculum 2001.

2004: Mordechai Ben-Ari
Textbook author, mentor and pedagogical researcher at both the university and pre-college levels, in concurrency, formal methods, and programming languages.

2003: Eric Roberts
Master teacher, advocate for computer science education, emissary to underrepresented populations in computer science. Principle editor and co-chair of the seminal document "Computing Curriculum 2001".

2002: Elliot Soloway
Pioneering Computer Science Education researcher, master teacher, and eloquent spokesman for educational reform involving computing to our computing colleagues and world at large.

2001: Allen B. Tucker
Author areas of programming languages, natural language processing, and computer science education. Co-chaired the ACM/IEEE Joint Curriculum Task Force that developed Computing Curricula 1991, co-author of the 1986 Liberal Arts Model Curriculum in Computer Science, Editor-in-Chief of the 1997 CRC Handbook of Computer Science and Engineering.

2000: Andries van Dam
Prolific author, researcher , hypertext pioneer and a champion of computing education for many year., founding faculty member of Brown University Computer Science Department.

1999: Peter Denning
For his efforts in developing a scientific core for operating systems, in formulating a curriculum through the "Denning Report", and in elucidating Computer Science to the broader scientific community. (Karlstrom citation - please change).

1998: William Wulf
Contributions to the advancement of Computer Science Education in engineering.

1997: Andrew Tanenbaum
For seminal textbooks in networks, computer organization and operating systems, outstanding wit and educational leadership.

1996: Nell Dale
Prolific author for introductory computer science textbooks and contributions to the field of computer science education research.

1995: Robert Aiken
Outstanding mentor, advocate of computer science and technology education both in the United States and abroad.

1994: Norman Gibbs
Contribution to Software Engineering Education, first director of the Software Engineering Institute, co-founder Liberal Arts Computer Science Consortium.

1993: Alan Kay
Contributions to Smalltalk programming languages, research development of computers usable by children.

1992: Daniel McCracken
Author of numerous best-selling books on Fortran, COBOL and other languages and their profound influence on today's computer science teachers.

1991: David Gries
Contributions to Computer Science Education through textbooks and teaching enabling critical thinking, formal methods and the application of logic to the discipline.

1990: Curriculum '68 Committee
For their work on the seminal document leading the way for the founding of a multitude of computer science departments and providing guidance to the formation of courses and production of textbooks.

1989: Edsger Dijkstra
For providing clarity about programs through his letter "GOTO Considered Harmful" and writings on structured programming and the effects of these works on the emergence of formal methods as integral to computer science education.

1988: Grace Murray Hopper
Pioneering work in compiler design (Cobol), oversaw the Navy's efforts to maintain uniformity in programming languages over two decades, master teacher who reminded us to watch our nanoseconds.

1987: Niklaus Wirth
For the development of a series of programming languages mainly for use in education chief among them Pascal. These languages continue to have a profound effect on the teaching of programming and on computer science in general.

1986: Donald Knuth
Author of influential series the "Art of Computer Programming" and his continuing contributions including TeX publication tool.

1985: Elliot Organick
Founder of SIGCSE, author and disseminator of the MULTICS operating system, author of several widely disseminated textbooks in programming languages and first computer courses.

1983: Karl Karlstrom
Book editor who piloted some 500 books on computer science through the publication process at a time when a senior editor said "I have traveled the length and breadth of this country and talked with the best people, and I can assure you that data processing is a fad that won't last out the year."

1982: Alan Perlis
Contributions to education, especially through his work on programming languages and compiler construction.

1981: William Atchison
Head of ACM Curriculum Committee that produced Curriculum '68, founding leader of University of Maryland Computer Science Department.