Special Projects 2007

Since 2003 SIGCSE has awarded a limited number of Special Projects Grants each year. These grants help SIGCSE members investigate and introduce new ideas in the learning and teaching of computing. Projects must provide some clear benefit to the wider disciplinary community in the form of new knowledge, developing or sharing of a resource, or good practice in learning, teaching, or assessment.

Here is a list of the awards given in 2007:

Plagarism Detection and Research Writing Validation
Thomas Way (thomas.way@villanova.edu)
Award date: May 2007

BRACELet: Investigating the link between the reading and writing of code
Jacqueline Whalley (jwhalley@aut.ac.nz)
Tony Clear (tclear@aut.ac.nz)
Award date: May 2007

Engaging and Interactive Security Education through Second Life
Jungwoo Ryoo
Dongwon Lee
Angsana Techatassannasoontorn (jxr65@psu.edu)
Award date: May 2007

Learning Support for a Security Class Suited for Non-majors
Alan Fekete (fekete@it.usyd.edu.au)
Judy Kay (judy@it.usyd.edu.au)
Robert Kummerfield (bob@it.usyd.edu.au)
Award date: May 2007

Building a multi-perspective digital library to facilitate teaching computing research methods across the curriculum
Hilary Holz (hilary.holz@csueastbay.edu )
Anne Applin
Award date: May 2007
Final Report

Towards Developing a Resource Guide for Student Projects
Narayanan T Ramachandran (narayanan@mecit.edu.om)
Award date: August 2007

Problem Solving using Video Scenarios
Madalene Spezialetti (Madalene.spezialetti@trincoll.edu)
Award date: August 2007

The "Plugged-in" Audience Grows: Podcasts in Instruction in the State of
Jane Ritter (jane@cs.uoregon.edu)
Award date: August 2007

A workshop on classifying publications in computing education research
Simon (simon@newcastle.edu.au)
Award date: November 2007

The Taulbee Report For the Rest of US
Michael Goldweber (mikeyg@cs.xu.edu)
Award date: November 2007