34th SIGCSE TS 2003

← 2002 | Technical Symposium Index | 2004 →

Proceedings SIGCSE '03: Proceedings of the 34th SIGCSE Technical Symposium on Computer Science Education
DatesFebruary 19-23, 2003 
LocationReno, NV, USA
VenueReno Hilton
History BlogBlog entry


2003 ACM SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education

Eric Roberts

Master teacher, advocate for computer science education, emissary to underrepresented populations in computer science. Principle editor and co-chair of the seminal document "Computing Curriculum 2001".

2003 ACM SIGCSE Award for Lifetime Service to the Computer Science Education Community

Harriet Taylor

Creative leader, researcher, supportive teacher. Past SIGCSE officer, representative to NECC, contributor to National Educational Technology Standards, UNESCO informatics curriculum, ISTE project for accreditation in technology for NCATE, the accreditation body for Colleges of Education, chair or program chair of numerous other education related conferences.

Publication Acceptance Rates

  accepted submitted acceptance rate
papers 75 234 32%
panels 12 17 71%
special sessions 10 15 67%
workshops 29 46 63%
faculty posters 35 50 70%

Key Notes

Symposium Committee

Symposium Chair

  • Scott Grissom - Grand Valley State University

Program Chairs

  • Dan Joyce - Villanova University
  • Deborah Knox - The College of New Jersey


  • Ryan McFall - Hope College

Special Sessions

  • Nancy Kinnersley - University of Kansas


  • Douglas Harms - DePauw University


  • Wanda Dann - Ithaca College


  • Cary Laxer and Frank Young - Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Faculty Posters

  • Rob Bryant - Gonzaga University

Birds Of A Feather

  • Stephen Cooper - St. Joseph's University

Student Volunteers and Student Activities

  • Tom Naps - University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh
  • Jim Aman - Columbus School for Girls


  • Paul Leidig - Grand Valley State University

Database Administrator

  • Henry Walker - Grinnell College

Local Arrangements

  • Yaakov L. Varol - University of Nevada - Reno
  • David Williams - Western Nevada Community College
  • Barry W. Pollack - Sierra Nevada College
  • Dr. Fritz Grupe - University of Nevada - Reno

Doctoral Consortium

  • Sue Fitzgerald - Metropolitan State University
  • Joseph Chase - Radford University

ACM International Student Research Contest

  • Ann Sobel - Miami University of Ohio