38th SIGCSE TS 2007

← 2006 | Technical Symposium Index | 2008 →

Proceedings SIGCSE '07: Proceedings of the 38th SIGCSE technical symposium on Computer science education
DatesMarch 7-10, 2007 
LocationCovington, KY, USA
VenueNorthern Kentucky Convention Center
History BlogBlog entry


2007 ACM SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education

Judith Gal-Ezer

Outstanding researcher and curriculum designer who has carried out pioneering work involving teaching the essence of computer science on both the high school and university levels.

John Hughes

In memory of his forty years contribution to computing education, academic leadership and research in Australasia and internationally. He was an outstanding mentor of students and colleagues and a committed educator.

2007 ACM SIGCSE Award for Lifetime Service to the Computer Science Education Community

John Impagliazzo

For extraordinary services to computing education, with particular contributions to the SIGCSE Bulletin, to international conferences on computing history, to accreditation leadership, and to curricula development.


Publication Acceptance Rates

  accepted submitted acceptance rate
papers 108 316 34%
panels 7 15 47%
special sessions 16 25 64%
workshops 35 65 54%

Key Notes

Symposium Committee

Symposium Chairs

  • Ingrid Russell - University of Hartford
  • Susan Haller - SUNY Potsdam

Program Chairs

  • J.D. Dougherty - Haverford College
  • Susan Rodger - Duke University

Panels and Special Sessions

  • Andrea Danyluk - Williams College


  • Nancy Kinnsersley - University of Kansas


  • Gary Lewandowski - Xavier University


  • Cary Laxer, Larry Merkle and Lynn Degler - Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology


  • Sue Fitzgerald - Metropolitan State University

Birds Of A Feather

  • Bina Ramamurthy - University at Buffalo (SUNY)

Student Volunteers and Student Activities

  • Tom Cortina - Carnegie Mellon University
  • Dave Musicant - Carleton College


  • Scott McElfresh - Carnegie Mellon University

Database Administrators

  • Henry Walker - Grinnell College
  • John Dooley - Knox College


  • Dick Brown - St. Olaf College

K-12 Liaison

  • Leigh Ann Sudol - Fox Lane High School

International Liaison

  • June Amillo - Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

Local Arrangements

  • Charles E. Frank - Northern Kentucky University
  • Joe Oldham - Centre College

Doctoral Consortium

  • Orit Hazzan - Israel Institute of Technology
  • Josh Tenenberg - University of Washington, Tacoma

Workshop for Department Chairs

  • Frank Young - Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

ACM International Student Research Contest

  • Ann Sobel - Miami University of Ohio