ACM Advanced Membership Grades

Last updated April, 2019

The Awards Committee of the SIGCSE Board is interested in raising the profile of computing education, and we believe that one way to do this is to have more SIGCSE members identified as Advanced Members of the ACM. There are three advanced membership grades available: Senior, Distinguished, and Fellow. Requirements, due dates, nomination forms and FAQs about each of these grades are available here:

     ACM Awards.

A very useful reference is an article by Marc Snir & Telle Whitney in the July 2010 CACM:

     Advice to members seeking ACM distinction.

Feel free to contact either Amber Settle if you have questions.


This is ACM's most prestigious member grade recognizing the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. Applications are due annually at the beginning of September. Fellows require five endorsements from current ACM Professional Members and must be nominated by an ACM Professional Member.

SIGCSE members who are ACM Fellows:

William Richards Adrion Robert M Aiken Ronald M Baeker Tracy Camp
Robert S Cartwright Jack Davidson Peter J Denning Dennis J. Frailey
Frank L Friedman Juan E. Gilbert Mark Guzdial Richard E. Ladner
Joyce Currie Little Michael Littman Dianne Martin William B Poucher
John Mark Pullen Eric S Roberts Bhavani Thuraisingham Allen Tucker
Albert J Turner Stuart Zweben

Distinguished Member

This membership grade recognizes members with exemplary achievements that have advanced the science, engineering and education of computing. Applications are due annually on August 1.
This award level requires at least 15 years of professional experience and the ability to demonstrate that the member has had significant accomplishments or impact in the computing field. Distinguished Members must be nominated by a current ACM Professional Member.

SIGCSE members with Distinguished grades:


Joel Adams Distinguished Educator
Christine Alvarado Distinguished Educator
Owen Astrachan Distinguished Educator
Tim Bell Distinguished Educator
Mordechai Ben-Ari Distinguished Educator
Judith Bishop Distinguished Educator
Martin C Carlisle Distinguished Educator
Michael E. Caspersen Distinguished Educator
Lillian (Boots) Cassel Distinguished Educator
Gail Chapman Distinguished Member
Michael J Clancy Distinguished Educator
Steve Cooper Distinguished Educator
Michelle Craig Distinguished Educator
James H. Cross II Distinguished Member
Mats Daniels Distinguished Scientist
Marie DesJardins Distinguished Scientist
Suzanne W Dietrich Distinguished Educator
Laura Dillon Distinguished Scientist
Stephen H Edwards Distinguished Educator
Alan D Fekete Distinguished Scientist
Sally Fincher Distinguished Scientist
Armando Fox Distinguished Scientist
Dan Garcia Distinguished Educator
Jeff Gray Distinguished Educator
Elizabeth K Hawthorne Distinguished Educator
Lane A Hemaspaandra Distinguished Scientist
Cay S. Horstmann Distinguished Member
Matt Huenerfauth Distinguished Member
John Impagliazzo Distinguished Educator
Doug Jacobson Distinguished Educator
Charles F. Kelemen Distinguished Educator
Michael Kolling Distinguished Educator
Renee McCauley Distinguished Member
Andrew McGettrick Distinguished Member
Ethan L Miller Distinguished Scientist
Barbara Boucher Owens Distinguished Educator
Richard Pattis Distinguished Educator
Marian Petre Distinguished Scientist
Sushil K Prasad Distinguished Scientist
Ramon C Puigjaner Distinguished Educator
Susan Rodger Distinguished Educator
Clifford A Shaffer Distinguished Educator
Judithe Sheard Distinguished Member
Lynn Andrea Stein Distinguished Member
Chris Stephenson Distinguished Member
David S Touretzky Distinguished Scientist
Andre van der Hoek Distinguished Member
Henry M Walker Distinguished Educator
Robert A. Walker Distinguished Scientist
Kevin D Wayne Distinguished Educator
Mark Weiss Distinguished Educator

Senior Member

ACM members can apply for the first advanced membership grade, Senior Membership, approximately every three months. Senior Membership requires at least 10 years of professional experience, including graduate school, and 5 years of continuous Professional Membership. Senior members are self-nominating, and three letters of recommendation from colleagues are required.

SIGCSE members with Senior grade:

Rajeev Agrawal Vicki Almstrum Barbara Anthony David Arnow
Reyyan Ayfer Douglas Baldwin Valerie Barr Rebecca A Bates
Joseph A Bergin Cindy Bethel Benjamin Bishop Jean Blair
Richard Blumenthal Erik Brunvand Peter Brusilovsky Suzanne Buchele
Jennifer Campbell Jeffrey C Carver Vincent A Cicirello John Cigas
Alison Clear Thomas Cortina Venu G Dasigi Janet Davis
Karen Davis Susan Dean Adrienne Decker John Dooley
John P Dougherty J.Philip East Ali Ebnenasir Deger Erdil
Barbara Jane Ericson Vladimir Estivill-Castro Rudolf Fleischer Yetunde Folajimi
Timothy Fossum Edward F Gehringer Paul V. Gestwicki Don Goelman
Timothy A Gonsalves Rebecca Grasser James Heliotis Daryl Hepting
Mark A Holliday Ellis Horowitz Meriel Huggard Hongbo Jiang
Jeremy R Johnson Lawrence G Jones Daniel T Joyce Jennifer S. Kay
Carsten Kleiner Vladik Kreinovich Can Kultur Deepak Kumar
Clif Kussmaul David Largent Niels Muller Larsen Cary Laxer
Robert R. Lewis Fuhua (Oscar) Lin Erik Linstead Vicente Ferreira de Lucena
David Luginbuhl Roman Lysecky Cynthia R Marling Bruce R Maxim
Ciaran Mc Goldrick John W McCormick Kevin W McCullen Monica McGill
James McGuffee James Miller Antonija Mitrovic William Mongan
Freeman L Moore Michael O Moorman Patricia A Morreale Todd Neller
Amos Olagunju Joann Ordille Michael Oudshoorn Panagiotis Papadimitratos
Abelardo Pardo Manuel Perez-Quinones Jeffrey Popyack Leo Porter
Viera Krnanova Proulx Samuel A. Rebelsky Donna S Reese Stefan A Robila
Guido Roessling Anthony S Ruocco Amber Settle Kelly Shaw
Richard E Smith Peter Sommerlad Daniel R. Tauritz Eli Tilevich
Jodi Tims Kim Tracy Paul Tymann Jan Vahrenhold
Michael Van Hilst Troy Vasiga Kam H Vat J. Angel Velazquez-Iturbide
Ellen L Walker Jerod Weinman James Whitmore Gunnar Wolf
Steven A Wolfman Xiao-Chun Yang Mohamed M Zahran