32nd SIGCSE TS 2001

← 2000 | Technical Symposium Index | 2002 →

Proceedings SIGCSE '01: Proceedings of the thirty-second SIGCSE Technical Symposium on Computer Science Education
DatesFebruary 21-25, 2001 
LocationCharlotte, NC, USA
History BlogBlog entry


2001 ACM SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education

Allen B. Tucker

Author areas of programming languages, natural language processing, and computer science education. Co-chaired the ACM/IEEE Joint Curriculum Task Force that developed Computing Curricula 1991, co-author of the 1986 Liberal Arts Model Curriculum in Computer Science, Editor-in-Chief of the 1997 CRC Handbook of Computer Science and Engineering.

2001 ACM SIGCSE Award for Lifetime Service to the Computer Science Education Community

Lillian N. (Boots) Cassel

Past chair of SIGCSE, and its Technical Symposium, leader in computer science accreditation, tireless advocate for computer science education supporting both faculty and students.

Publication Acceptance Rates

  accepted submitted acceptance rate
papers 78 225 35%

Symposium Committee

Symposium Chair

  • Henry Walker
    Grinnell College

Program Co-Chairs

  • Judith Gersting
    University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Renee McCauley
    The University of Charleston


  • Tim Long
    Ohio State University

Special Sessions

  • Wanda Dann
    Ithaca College
  • Chuck Leska
    Ithaca College


  • Lisa Meeden
    Swarthmore College


  • Venu Dasigi
    Southern Polytechnic State University

Faculty Posters

  • Judith Williams
    William Penn University

ACM International Student Research Contest

  • Ann Sobel
    Miami University

Town Meeting Moderator

  • Sue Fitzgerald
    Metropolitan State University

Student Volunteers

  • Deborah Hwang
    University of Evansville

Doctoral Consortium

  • John Lewis
    Villanova University
  • Vicki Alumstrum
    The University of Texas at Austin


  • Ingrid Russell
    University of Hartford


  • Scott Grissom
    Grand Valley State University

Local Arrangements

  • Kent Foster
    Winthrop University
  • William Myers
    Belmont Abbey College
  • Gireesh Gupta
    Belmont Abbey College
  • Robert Lover
    Belmont Abbey College
  • William Davis
    Belmont Abbey College

Exhibits Liaison

  • Don Bailes
    East Tennessee State University

Exhibits Floor Manager

  • Tom D'Auria
    Information Methods Incorporated

Firswt-Timer Activities

  • Elizabeth Johnson
    Xavier University

Northern European Liaison

  • Jurgen Borstler
    Umea University

Southern European Liaison

  • Ricardo Jimenez Peris
    Universidad Politecnica de Madrid

Asian/Australian Liaison

  • Tony Greening
    The University of Sydney

Community College Liaison

  • Donna Tupper
    Community College of Baltimore County

Secondary School Liaisons

  • Sarah Fix
    Winston-Salem Forsyth County Schools
  • Rich Kick
    Hinsdale Central High School


  • Carey Laxer
    Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • Frank Young
    Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Roommate Matching

  • Cathy Baresis
    Olivet Nazarene University


  • William Marion
    Valparaiso University